Williams Sponsor Culinary Hero Award 2024

Williams Refrigeration were delighted to present this year’s Culinary Hero Award to Graham Singer, Culinary Director at ESS Energy and Compass Scotland.

The Craft Guild of Chefs Awards recognises exceptional talent across the whole industry, and this year’s 30th anniversary ceremony took place at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House in London, on Monday, 24th June, with over 800 industry leaders.

The Culinary Hero Award identifies chefs who along with demonstrating the highest professional standards, go the extra mile to support their team, community or industry.

From left to right: Malcolm Harling (Sales & Marketing Director, Williams), Graham Singer (Culinary Hero Award Winner), HRH The Duchess of Edinburgh and Mark Reynolds (Chair of the Craft Guild of Chefs.)

The award recognises Graham's professional delivery in his demanding job role, including feeding thousands of customers and leading culinary strategy for Compass Scotland, all whilst supporting his local community.

Graham’s passion is strongly demonstrated with support including leading a team to prepare and deliver 4,500 meals for the less fortunate during Christmas 2023 and maintaining ongoing charitable efforts with organisations such as Social Bite and Aberdeen Cyrenians who support the homeless and vulnerable.


The full list of winners:

Accredited College Restaurant Award: Sheffield College

Apprentice Chef Award: Jess Miller, chef de partie, Chartwells Independent

Banqueting & Event Chef Award: Paul Bates, executive head chef, Hilton London Metropole

Chef Lecturer Award: Anthony Gascoigne, chef lecturer, North Hertfordshire College

Competition Chef Award: Christopher Morrell, senior chef - officers' mess, Royal Air Force

Contract Catering Chef Award: Simon Webb, hospitality executive chef, BaxterStorey

Culinary Hero Award: Graham Singer, culinary director, ESS

Development Chef Award: Martyn Lee, development chef, Waitrose

New Restaurant of the Year Award: Miller Prada, Humo London

Pastry Chef Award: Michael Kwan, executive head pastry chef, The Dorchester

Pub Restaurant Chef Award: Chris Mapp, head chef & owner, The Tickled Trout

Public Sector Chef Award: Kath Breckon, training and development chef, North Yorkshire Council

Restaurant Chef Award: Tom Tsappis, chef owner, Killiecrankie House

Street Food Chef Award: Cameron Laidlaw, chef, Junk Street Food

Young Chef Award: Cameron Jones, chef cook, Waterside Inn

International Chef Award: Thomas Keller

Outstanding Support of Culinary Excellence Award: Savoy Educational Trust

Special Award: Asma Khan

Sustainability Excellence Award: Anna Pazdera, London Heathrow Marriott Hotel